Moving Day

Well, moving day proved to be very taxing. Unfortunately a bought of food poisoning kept me laid up most of the weekend which was equally frustrating as saying goodbye to certain people was cut short. Word to the wise: Do not try to move and quit in less than one week, it’s highly stressful and not fun at all. True to form, 8:00am rolled around and items to tick off still consisted of:

  • Cancel Insurances
  • Return/re-sell car *sob*
  • Pick up tailoring
  • Go to the bank
  • Add travel alerts
  • Pack

Oh my.. packing. Never never EVER wait until the day-of to pack for an international move. My luggage literally weighed well over 60 lbs. and I’m so lucky I had my family to help drag it to the counter! Amazingly, I was able to get almost everything packed, with only a few items left for a later return trip home. Rolling dresses and shirts is definitely the way to go. Also, removing a sleeping back will give back a not-so-surprising amount of space in a checked bag.

Goodbye sweet Seattle House aka “Little House”! Six years of great memories with great roommates!

By 4:30pm I was through security, through more than a few tears, and back to a normal color after furiously blushing when in close proximity to Conan O’Brien (he is SO tall!).

En route After a short layover in Heathrow where sweet dreams of Prince Harry almost made me miss my connection, I landed in Luxembourg. I made a lovely acquaintance at the airport who I hope to become a close friend, a fellow American that has been in Luxembourg the past 15 years. One taxi cab ride and an elevator later, I came to my temporary home:

Leading out to the terrace

Leading out to the terrace. I don’t have a city view but I do have the largest balcony

Since this is temporary housing pictures of the space will be limited as I won’t be here long! Needless to say, the company is giving every comfort during this comprehensive life-uproot and I am so grateful for all the guidance and help along the way.

Leave a comment